HODGES

Standard

HODGESblack_athletes

I sing a song of praise to the one Craig Hodges
Kept out of membership, clubs and the lodges
On the blacklist, though I ducks and I dodges
Even though I’m nice from beyond the arc
They got me boxed out cuz my mind too dark
Even though I fill stands up with the fans
Standing up for something that they jus can’t stand
They rather have me playing as a kid, not a man
Rather have me grinning with the dollars in my hand
And to make it rain from the three point land
Posing for the cameras with a trophy in my hand
Than to mash up they plantations
olympic fists
So I sing a song of praise to the one named hodges
I am just a griot looking for some applauses
Snaps as effects of my poetics causes
Speak my mind, then I’m with the outlawses
Even though a champion, know that I’m marked
See me as a threat cuz my mind’s too dark
Doors in my face are regularly slammed
Standing up for something that they jus can’t stand
Rather have me dancing with a mic in my hand
Dip dip dive, drive 500 grand
In a video throwing signs with my hand
Than to mash up they plantations

So I sing a song of praise to the man named hodges
Big time baller of the Bulls that’s Chicago’s
Limos and mansions, all the mirageshodges-craig
Champagne baths and Swedish massages
Pippin and the worm, and Madonna in ménages
But I sing of Ali and Olympic fists
Robeson and all those on the blacklist
See me in dashiki making Bush and dem pissed
Black like me, for the black ball plan
Rather see me hot with the rock in my hand
Doing my thang, from the three point land
Than to mash up they plantations

© nth digri, 2015

 

Leave a Reply

